The birth of Macen

July 1, 2008 at 4:08 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

We made our move from CO when I was 38 wks pregnant. So we wanted to quickly find a house and get it set up before the little guy arrived. And we did just that (see the next post). We had a little over a week of waiting for him to arrive. James got me walking on my due date (a Thursday) – 2 1/2 miles to be exact. He thought I should be able to do more and I thought he was crazy. Never mind that was the most exercise I had done my entire pregnancy and I was nearly 40 lbs heavier.

We got massages (Friday), left town (you’re not suppose to go very far in case you go into labor) in the hopes doing something we weren’t suppose to do would trigger labor (Saturday) and finally going all out (Sunday). We went to church and prayed for his arrival, did a little unpacking/heavy lifting, ate some spicy food, and drank a little wine to relax. I woke up in the early am of April 30h to contractions. It was about 2:45 am and contractions varied but were typically 6-8 min apart. I got up awhile later to shower and then went back to bed. I wanted to labor at home for as long as possible. We called the hospital at 7am with a question and they instructed us to come in. We had a 30 min drive and as soon as we got in the car, contractions were 3-4 min apart. Once we got to the hospital, they checked me and said I was 0% effaced and dilated to a 5. I was impressed and thought it might go fast from there. I took the pain for as long as I could and asked for an epidural at 11:30am. I don’t remember much else of the day other than my family coming around 4pm or so. At 5:30 they said I was fully dialted and it was time to start pushing. I pushed for about 45 mins or so. Macen’s heartrate dropped so they suggested a break and to allow for a shift change in nurses.  Once everyone was ready to go again, I pushed for another 2 hrs before requesting a c-section. The doctor had determined he was coming down facing up instead of down. So it would be harder for him to get thru the canal and he just wasn’t progressing any through the pushing. I was hurting and tired by then so a c-section seemed to be the only way he was coming.

Macen was born April 30th at 10:50pm. He weighed 7lbs 9oz and was 20 in long.

Our most memorable moments in the hospital. I nursed Macen as soon as I got back to the room. He nursed great and soon as he was done, he put his hand in his mouth and started sucking away. It was so loud and he sounded like Tigger does when he bounces on his tail. The nurses thought it was so funny. He had all of us laughing. And the morning after Macen was born, James scooped him up and sat with him in front of the tv giving him his first sports lesson. I believe they were talking about baseball and James gave Macen the lowdown on particular teams.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

